top of page

VILLAGE OF JUNCTION CITY

SMALL TOWN PROUD

Discover the rich history and vibrant present of Junction City, Ohio. This charming village is home to several historical landmarks that tell the story of its development and heritage. From its early beginnings to its modern community, Junction City offers a unique blend of past and present. Dive into the local culture and explore what makes this village a special place to live and visit.

thumbnail_7812934683071426628parksign_edited.jpg

OUR HISTORY

ABOUT

The Village of Junction City is a quaint little town located in Jackson Township, Perry County, Ohio. The Village was incorporated between 1883 and 1885. The Village is approximately .6 square miles in area with a population of 721 residents according to the 2020 census. Most residents here have called Junction City home all their lives and as a community are Small Town Proud!

THE INFAMOUS MAIN INTERSECTION

Between 1850 and 1860, the area was known as “Wolf’s Station” due to Mr. George Wolf who was the postmaster at that time and owned the dry goods store. There was only Logan Road with a blacksmith shop, a post office, a store, a tavern, and very few inhabitants. Mail was delivered most likely by horseback along the Logan Trail to George’s store. George Wolf owned the 160 acres west of Logan Road and his brother, William Wolf, owned 160 acres east of Logan Road. William Wolf died in 1872. George was the executor of his brother’s will and thereby prohibited him from buying the land. George had Mr. Edmiston buy it for him, intending to re-purchase it, but a quarrel over the land ensued between the two men. George laid out his westside village and called it Damascus, while Edmiston laid out his eastside village and named it Trio City. The lots on either side of Logan Road were of different sizes, so they did not meet in the center. Each man refused to re-survey their lots, so there is a jog-off to this day at the intersection of Main Street and Logan.

THE BEGINNINGS

Mail delivered to Wolf’s Station was addressed to Rush Creek, Wolf’s Station, Damascus, and Trio City. Postal Authorities wanted a one name for the delivery location. People met at Wolf’s store to make the decision by putting names in a hat. The men agreed to abide by whatever name was drawn. The store clerk, Thomas Perry Wolf, dropped in the name Junction City because of the new railroads. The name Junction City was drawn and by 1883 the town had a population of about 500 people. The village boomed after the sale of the plated lots. Junction City now had a post office, three railroads, two hotels, two merchandise stores, a shoemaker, two drug stores, two hardware stores, a furniture and livery store, a bar & billiards, a flouring mill, a newspaper, two millinery stores, four physicians, a meat shop, one bent works, two churches, and a number of grocery and eating houses. Dr. Clark built the first saloon on the south side of the railroad tracks which led to seven more saloons being built there. This became known as “Whiskey Row.”

THE FIRST MEHODIST CHURCH

One of the first churches erected in town is the Methodist Church, in 1874. This old church, which consisted of one room, was originally warmed by coal stoves and lit by kerosene lamps. The introduction of gas heat and light was just the beginning of modernization. An old organ was replaced with a new electric organ and two pianos, and a fully equipped basement was added. Membership increased to 150 people at one time. The church is still standing on E. Main Street, but is now a private residence.

THE GREAT OIL BOOM

Between 1900-1916 oil derricks could be seen all around town. Population is said to have doubled during that time. Over 40 different oil companies were headquartered here. The Guinsler Electric Company came into existence in 1900. They made their own electricity by means of steam boilers fed by coal. Junction City was the smallest town in the State of Ohio to have its own electricity at the time. Guinsler’s built a line to New Lexington in 1920 and furnished their power until Ohio Power took over.

THE JUNCTION CITY-JACKSON TWP SCHOOL & HIGH SCHOOL

In 1907, an eight-room school was erected at the top of Hill Street. That school was replaced with a two-story school building on W. Main Street and dedicated in 1931. The Junction City-Jackson Township High School operated until its closure in 1960. The graduating class of 1960 Basketball team’s last game was against the undefeated Glenford team. The Wild Cats beat the undefeated Glenford team and closed the school on a high note. The Wild Cats Basketball team also played against and beat the freshman class of The Ohio State Buckeyes in 1959. The building has long been torn down, as the school system changed; however, the original school bell is still on display at the village park.

THE JUNCTION CITY BRANCH OF THE OHIO PENITENTIARY

The Junction City branch of the Ohio Penitentiary was located three miles west of the Village, off State Route 37. The State of Ohio leased the land from a preacher who owned it in 1908. Originally, the penitentiary was an honor camp that housed 30 to 40 inmates, had two guards, and one Superintendent. The State of Ohio purchased the land in 1914 and made the honor camp a full-fledged prison. In the 1920’s, a brick plant was built and operated by the prisoners. 10 to 12 carloads of brick, stamped with “inmate made,” were shipped to all parts of the U.S. each day. The manufacturing of the bricks ended in 1935, and all the equipment was moved to Columbus. As inmate population increased, so did the employees. There were 21 guards, one lieutenant and one warden by 1953. The prison was eventually shut down in 1977. Hollywood came to Junction City one year after the prison was closed in 1978. The movie Brubaker, starring Robert Redford began filming in late 1978 and concluded in spring of 1979. The movie, released in 1980, was about a new prison warden who attempts to clean up corruption in a violent penal system. The closed Junction City Branch of the Ohio Penitentiary Locale fit perfectly. Local residents still fondly remember being daily extras in the movie. A jail-themed restaurant recently opened in town in honor of the cinematic history of Junction City’s appearance in movies. Movie buffs and visitors are encouraged to stop into Brewbaker Tavern on W. Main Street and have a slice of small-town proud cooking. The penitentiary was eventually demolished in 2005, and the land is now privately owned.

The Village of Junction City is still a thriving community 176 years later. Most notable for strong community involvement from the James A. Fisher American Legion Post 376, the Junction City Post Office, two banks, locally owned shops such as Clark’s Grocery Store, Brewbaker Tavern, Ron R. Vigue Law Office, and Clark’s Hardware, a gas station, one other retail store, two churches, and the Junction City Elementary School. We welcome visitors to enjoy a small-town atmosphere!

 

 

 

Sources: Pat Vigue, History of Junction City (2009); Paul Dickson, History and Memories of Junction City and Jackson Township Ohio (2010).

bottom of page